Six newly recognized tribes added to Bureau of Indian Affairs list

Bureau of Indian Affairs list
Posted: Monday, July 23, 2018
The Bureau of Indian Affairs has published a new list of federally recognized tribes, adding six from Virginia to the list. The Chickahominy Tribe, the Chickahominy Tribe – Eastern Division, the Monacan Nation, the Nansemond Tribe, the Rappahannock Tribe and the Upper Mattaponi Tribe all gained federal recognition through an act of Congress in January. But that was after the BIA had published the list so the document had to be updated. “The listed Indian entities are acknowledged to have the immunities and privileges available to federally recognized Indian tribes by virtue of their government-to-government relationship with the United States as well as the responsibilities, powers, limitations, and obligations of such tribes,” a notice published in the Federal Register on Monday reads.
Indian Affairs


The BIA is required by law to publish the list “annually on or before every Jan…TO READ ORIGINAL/ENTIRE ARTICLE: CLICK HERE!!