First Nations Native Arts Project Explores Traditional Pueblo Connections

When driving through New Mexico there are road signs along the highways that let people know when they’re entering and leaving tribal lands. The state is home to the 19 Pueblo Nations of New Mexico, as well as three Apache tribes and the Navajo Nation, according to the New Mexico Indian Affairs Department. The Ute Mountain Ute Tribe also has trust land that extends into northwestern New Mexico.

For the 19 Pueblos, their presence in the state spans far more than signs on the road, as they have been living on their traditional tribal homelands for centuries – long before New Mexico became a state and the United States became a country.

Read more