2018 American Indian Achievement Awards Honorees

Denver, CO – Rocky Mountain Indian Chamber celebrated American Indian Achievement with more than 350 attendees from across the United States.  Attendees gathered at the Marriott Denver Tech Center to honor American Indian Businesses, Professionals, Scholars, Tribes and Partners.

Ernest House Jr (Ute Mtn Ute) and Darius Smith (Navajo), served as Emcees, while Stand-up Comedian, Jon Roberts (Red Lake Band, MN Ojibwe), served as the night’s entertainment.

Denver Singers lead the Flag Song as Francis Sherwood lead the dance highlight.

Congratulations to the 2018 American Indian Achievement Honorees and Recipients:

Corporation of the Year: Iron Woman Construction & Mining Services
Past recipients include: Milender White, Xcel Energy, Denver Public Schools, RTD, Crow Nation
Recipients are recognized as they open doors for RMICC to expand reach and impact across American Indian Communities.

For the first time, the CEO of this year’s Corporation of the Year (Iron Woman Construction) was also the Legacy Award Recipient.

Dee St Cyr/Colleen Honomichl Legacy of Service Award: Shaun Egan (Blackfeet Nation), CEO of Iron Woman Construction & Mining Services
Past recipients include: Don Kelin, Jerry Grilly, Andrea Lesher, Deb Emhoolah, Shadana Dickerson-Sultan, Linda Alvarado, First Nations Development Institute, and Trena Deane
Recipients are recognized as they truly exemplify the spirit of giving, expecting nothing in return.  They continue to stand for the under-served and have contributed to improvements across Indian Communities.

2018 Scholarship Recipients

Milender White Construction ScholarshipsRaelene Woody Navajo Psychology University of Denver / Joaquin Gallegos Jicarilla Apache Nation-Pueblo of Santa Ana Juris Doctor University of Denver Sturm College of Law / Brandon Tabaha Navajo Electrical Engineering University of Colorado Denver

Lloyd Running Bear Scholarship (Dr. Ursula sponsored): 
Autumn Tsosie Navajo Biological Sciences University of Northern Colorado

Xcel Energy Scholarship:
Colten Fredericks Three Affiliated Tribes International Affairs, pre-Law University of Colorado Boulder

Kaiser Permanente Scholarship:
Roselyn Small Navajo Masters in Counseling in Mental Health Adams State University

The Fort/Tesoro Foundation Scholarship:
Sage Lewis-Wilde Muscogee Creek Nation Pre-Med Community College of Aurora

Native American Bank:
Joshua Emerson Dine’ (Navajo) Economics Fort Lewis College

Colorado Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution Scholarship: Halle Sago Zuni Pueblo and Mescalero Apache ENVD – Architecture University of Colorado at Boulder

Denver Museum of Nature and Science Scholarships:
Liliana Castrellon Brule Lakota (Lower Brule) and Hunkpati Dakota (Crow Creek) Physics (with concentration in astrophysics) University of Denver / Cassidy Kramer Alaska Native Health Sciences Colorado Christian University /  Donovan David Navajo Biology University of Colorado Denver

CIEF American Indian Scholars License Plates Scholarships: Rebecca Plumage Assiniboine Law The University of Denver Sturm College of Law / Queana Maher Standing Rock Sioux Tribe Nursing University of Colorado Denver / Tyrone Smith Navajo Applied Computer Technology Colorado State University

2018 Veterans Honoring – sponsored by Shaun Egan/Iron Woman Construction & Mining Services.

Reminder that applications for 2019 consideration open during the 2019 Indian Biz Expo (April  Denver CO) and end in September.

For more information: [email protected] 720.336.0733 www.RMICC.org