January 02, 2018 (230 days ago)
0 Subscribers
Colorado, United States
All News by Shadana Sultan
Related News
RMICC welcomes Miss Native American USA '13, Sarah Ortegon, to host the 2017 American Indian Achievement Awards. Featured Entertainment will be Comedian Adrianne Chalepah; (read more)
386 days ago · From Shadana Sultan
The INSPIRE program offers full scholarships to Native American, Alaska Native, and Native Hawaiian high school students to student applied American politics as part of a three (3) week summer program at George Washington University. (read more)
606 days ago · From Shadana Sultan
American Indian Science and Engineering Society has administered on behalf of Burlington Northern Santa Fe Foundation's scholarships available to American Indian high school seniors. (read more)
1221 days ago · From
RMICC and partners gave away more than $28K in Scholarships and AWards at the 2014 American Indian Achievement Awards (read more)
1386 days ago · From
2017 American Indian Achievement Awards Honorees

Denver, CO 
- Rocky Mountain Indian Chamber celebrated American Indian Achievement with more than 350 attendees from across the United States.  Attendees gathered at the Marriott Denver Tech Center to honor American Indian Businesses, Professionals, Scholars, Tribes and Partners.  

Sarah Ortegon, former Miss Native American USA, served as the Emcee, while Stand-up Comedian, Adrianne Chalepah, served as the night's entertainment. Dr. Russell Stands Over Bull (Crow) opened the night with an invocation.  Denver Singers lead the Flag Song as Native American Veterans of Colorado posted the flags for the event.  Francis Sherwood lead the dance highlight.     

Congratulations to the 2017 American Indian Achievement Honorees and Recipients:

Corporation of the Year: Crow Nation Indian Tribe
Past recipients include: Milender White, Xcel Energy, Denver Public Schools, RTD

Recipients are recognized as they open doors for RMICC to expand reach and impact across American Indian Communities.  

Dee St Cyr/Colleen Honomichl Legacy of Service Award: Trena Deane
Past recipients include: Don Kelin, Jerry Grilly, Andrea Lesher, Deb Emhoolah, Shadana Dickerson-Sultan, Linda Alvarado, First Nations Development Institute
Recipients are recognized as they truly exemplify the spirit of giving, expecting nothing in return.  They continue to stand for the under-served and have contributed to improvements across Indian Communities. 

2017 Scholarship Recipients
Milender White - Roselyn Small, Jerrilyn Bluehouse, Donovan David
The Fort - Thomas J.K. Trump
Miller Coors - Alyssa Willie
Kaiser Permanente - Liliana Castrellano
Xcel Energy - Melanie Archuleta
Denver Museum of Nature and Science - Anastasia Lawrence, Joaquin Gallegos, Desiree Lawrence

2017 Veterans Honoring - Ian Newland (Chiricahua Apache Nation), sponsored by CadiraMD.

Reminder that applications for 2018 consideration open during the 2018 Indian Biz Expo (April 9, Doubletree Quebec Denver CO) and end in September.  

For more information: 720.336.0733 
Other News in this Category
6 days ago · From Shadana Sultan
RMICC highlights community partners working with us to support Indian Country. Murphy Robinson serves as the Executive Director of the General Services Department for the City and County of Denver. (read more)
20 days ago · From Shadana Sultan
Frito lay delivered donations to Pine Ridge. (read more)
25 days ago · From Shadana Sultan
The Bureau of Indian Affairs has published a new list of federally recognized tribes, adding six from Virginia to the list (read more)
28 days ago · From Shadana Sultan
RMICC was on hand for the ceremony marking the opening of the Rocky Mountain Regional VA Medical Center. (read more)
29 days ago · From Shadana Sultan

Back to Top