November 03, 2014 (1024 days ago)
0 Subscribers
Related News
RMICC welcomes Miss Native American USA '13, Sarah Ortegon, to host the 2017 American Indian Achievement Awards. Featured Entertainment will be Comedian Adrianne Chalepah; (read more)
23 days ago · From Shadana Sultan

$28K Awarded at 11th Annual American Indian Achievement Awards

11/03/14 Denver, CO - Rocky Mountain Indian Chamber partnered with Colorado Indian Education Foundation, Denver Museum of Nature and Science, Milender White Construction, Office of Economic Development and Trade/MBO, Tocabe, BNSF, Wells Fargo, and Private donors to award more than $28K in Scholarships and Awards at the 11th Annual American Indian Achievement Awards Gala.  The event was held Saturday November 3, 2014 at the Marriott Denver Tech Center, and it marked the Regional kickoff to American Indian Heritage Month.  Denver Mayor Michael B Hancock joined the event for opening remarks.  Tatanka Means, Oglala Lakota Actor, Model, and Comedian, served as the night's entertainment.  The Honorable Chase Iron Eyes, Oglala Lakota Activist, Tribal Judge and Cofounder of LastRealIndians served as featured MC.  Doug Good Feather, Oglala Lakota and two time deployment Veteran and Faith Leader, highlighted the Veterans Honoring by playing the flute. Grace Gillette, Executive Director of Denver March Powwow, led the Living Hoop Dance Troupe in traditional dance highlight.  Sister Nations served as Color Guard.


2014 OEDIT/MBO BreakOut American Indian Small Business Awards

Ben Jacobs (Osage) - Tocabe American Indian Eatery $500

Bessie Smith (Navajo) - Dzabahe Jewelry $500

2014 OEDIT/MBO Overall American Indian Small Business of the Year

Kelly Holmes (Cheyenne River) - Native Max Magazine $1000


business award recipients

Daniel Alvarez, LCMiranda Design - (left to right) Kelly Holmes, Bessie Smith, Ben Jacobs

2014 Legacy Award Recipient - Deb Emhoolah, Native American Bank

2014 Corporation of the Year - Milender White Construction

2014 Standout American Indian Professionals Recognized throughout the year:

Shawn Martinez (Navajo) - Detroit Pistons Game Entertainment, Ernest House (Southern Ute) - ED Colorado Commission of Indian Affairs, Darius Smith (Navajo) - ED Denver Human Rights Commission, Deb Hunt (Cherokee) - ED American Indian Student Services, Oren Lyons (Seneca) - Faith Keeper, Gewas Schindler (Onondaga) - GM Iroquois National Lacrosse, Billy Mills (Lakota) - Olympic Gold Medalist, Ben Jacobs (Osage) - Tocabe, Keith Smith (Navajo) - Founding Partner at Smith, Shellenberger & Salazar, Andrea Lesher (Cherokee) - Asamadi Solutions, Don Kelin (Caddo) - Caddo Solutions, Bryon White (Cherokee) - Milender White Construction, Shebon Kelin (Caddo) - Concorde, Tom Fredericks (Arikara) - Founding Partner at Fredericks, Peebles & Morgan, Jeremiah Bitsui (Navajo/Omaha) - Actor/Breaking Bad, Simon Moya-Smith (Lakota) - National News Correspondent, Jim Warne (Lakota) - NFL Retired, Rodney Grant (Omaha) - Actor/Dances with Wolves, Neal Powless (Onondaga) - Dutch National Lacrosse, Colleen Honomichl (Lakota) - Colorado American Indian PTAC, Thompson Williams (Caddo) - Artist/Painter, Walt Pourier (Lakota) - Artist/Stronghold Society, Jennifer Williams (Lakota) - University of Colorado, Tatanka Means (Lakota) - Actor/Comedian, Chase Iron Eyes (Lakota) - Activist, Dee St Cyr (Winnebago) - Bear Woman Enterprises, Jim Williamson (Turtle Mountain) - Falcon Energy


2014 Scholarship Recipients:


Denver Museum of Nature and Science Kristyn Fudge Cherokee Engineering Legacy HS/John Hopkins University
Denver Museum of Nature and Science Tyler Hall Cherokee Computer Science Colorado State University
Denver Museum of Nature and Science Lindsey Kroboth Cherokee Biomedical Sciences Colorado State University
Denver Museum of Nature and Science Jackson Osborn Choctaw Electrical Engineering University of Colorado @DMNS
Denver Museum of Nature and Science Joseph Yellowhorse-Murphy Oglala Lakota Engineering Colorado School of Mines
Colorado Indian Education Foundation Chad Avery Navajo Undergrad Colorado State University
Colorado Indian Education Foundation Tierra Jishie Navajo Undergrad Fort Lewis
Colorado Indian Education Foundation Saydie Sago Mescalero Apachie Undergrad Univ of Colorado Boulder
Colorado Indian Education Foundation Rene Begay Navajo Graduate Univ of Colorado Anschutz Medical
Colorado Indian Education Foundation Mona Roy Leech Lake band of Ojibwe Graduate Regis University
Wells Fargo Scholarship Sarah Hernandez Rosebud Sioux PhD / English & Literary Studies CU Boulder
Marshall & Brynda Turner Legacy Scholarship Chesleigh Keene Navajo 2nd yr Doctoral / Counseling Psychology University of Denver
Milender White Scholarship 1k Anastasia Lawrence Oglala Lakota Education University of Colorado
Milender White Scholarship 1k Madeline Anna Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma 2nd yr Graduate, Veterinary Science Colorado State University
Milender White Scholarship 2k Geraldine BlackGoat Navajo 1st yr Graduate, Architecture University of Colorado at Denver
Milender White Scholarship 2k April Allen Sac and Fox Nation of Oklahoma Sr Economics & Business Administration with Concentration in Accounting Colorado State University
BNSF Scholarship Marcus Denny Menominee 2nd yr Graduate, Special Education Leadership Metro State University
Tocabe Scholarship Daniel Vigil Rosebud Lakota Sr Psychology University of Northern Colorado
Mike Kehoe Scholarship Nicole Kenote Menominee 2nd yr Graduate, Environmental Health & Toxicology Colorado State University
Other News in this Category
The U.S. Department of Agriculture is accepting applications for loans to provide and expand broadband service in rural areas. Loans can range from $100,000 to $20 million. (read more)
7 hours ago · From Shadana Sultan
BNSF Railway Co. is observing good transloading activity so far this year, with that piece of business outperforming initial forecasts (read more)
12 hours ago · From Shadana Sultan
There are neighborhoods in Denver where nearly one in 10 children tested show high levels of lead in their blood, according to an analysis of city data by The Colorado Trust last year. (read more)
14 days ago · From Shadana Sultan
Climate change is a global issue. But public health and government officials are increasingly emphasizing that climate change has consequences for human health—and that climate-related health consequences won’t be distributed equally. (read more)
14 days ago · From Shadana Sultan
Partnership with First Nations Development Institute among several NEH grants to preserve and document Native American history and culture (read more)
20 days ago · From Shadana Sultan

Back to Top